Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Steering rack for 68 convertible.

Hi everyone,

Im pretty new to the classic mustang world having recently bought a 1968 302 convertible. There are a few mods I’d like to make, one if which is better steering. I’d really like the steering to be more responsive and so I think that I’d like to do away with the original steering Box and install a steering rack.
    does anyone know how easy this is to do and if there is a kit available to do this? Has anyone on here done this and can give me the benefit of their experience.

Before you go down that route I would check all your current set up for wear and any adjustment. I find that my car steers perfectly well for a classic car, not as good as a modern Mustang but then again it isn't one.
    I do believe PhilK on here has fitted a fair few racks and will be able to offer advice and would be able to fit it for you if that is the route you choose.

Comment

Good advice above.
      I've fitted one some years ago to a 65 and to be honest I didn't really think it was worth the effort. Yes it made the steering slightly more direct feeling but that just showed up the shortcomings of everything else. Also lost quite a bit of travel so you had to be careful pulling out of tight junctions and manoeuvring in multi storeys etc. The stock setup is more than adequate IF it's in good order. It's total xxxxe if it's worn out.

Comment

Thanks for your responses guys, that’s very interesting to hear, I did have my car checked over buy Modurstang who are fairly local to me, they told me that the current steering was just what it was, and that I couldn’t expect it to be much better than it currently is. Maybe I need a second opinion.